Life Jacket Program

Life Jacket Loaner Program For Kids!

We are proud participitants of the Life Jacket Loaner Program for Kids. All you need is a valid ID and phone number to borrow life jackets for the kids. Contact us for more information!

Life Jacket Program

PFD Wearage Requirements for Children by State:
Effective December 23, 2002, in states where no children's life jacket law is in place, a new U.S. Coast Guard interim rule will require children under 13 on moving boats to wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket that fits. Fifteen states will be affected by the rule.

State: Indiana
What age must wear PFD: No state law, boaters must abide by Federal Regulation, which requires that all children under 13 wear a PFD, while on federal waterways in this state. To determine if the waterway where you boat is a federal waterway, contact your state boating agency.
Vessel Length: All lengths.
When PFD
Must be Worn:
In support of the ongoing efforts of the states and Coast Guard to improve boating safety, the Coast Guard is requiring that all children under 13 years of age wear Coast Guard approved life jackets, while aboard recreational vessels underway.
Approved
PFD Styles:
USCG Approved, must fit properly and be in good condition.
Exceptions when PFD does not need to be worn: If child is below deck or in an enclosed cabin.



State: Michigan
What age must wear PFD: Under age 6.
Vessel Length:
When PFD
Must be Worn:
Approved
PFD Styles:
Type I or II
Exceptions when PFD does not need to be worn: When child is below deck.



State: Illinois
What age must wear PFD: Under age 13.
Vessel Length: Less than 26 feet.
When PFD
Must be Worn:
Must be worn while vessel is underway.
Approved
PFD Styles:
Type I, II, III, or V
Exceptions when PFD does not need to be worn: Not applicable when operating a watercraft on private property.